Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I bought this a couple of weeks ago in a craft market I had visited the day before with my mum and my sister. When we had been there together, live music had been performing too loudly for any of us to want to loiter. A different band was playing the following day, but it didn't matter because there was nobody with me to chat with and so I loitered long enough to check out all the stalls. I particularly liked the stall of turned wood items. This ball of oak and its little nest was the only item I felt I could afford, but that's fine, it's very tactile and very beautiful. There were larger spheres made from more expensive wood, and bowls, and pot-pourri containers with pretty vented lids, but this is fine for me. I might take it to work and put it on my desk and call it my crystal ball because I have just as much chance of seeing into the future with this as I do with our in-house “newsletters”.
The wood-turner who made this is called Geoff Christie. He is partially sighted and he trades under the name “Turning Blind”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.