Tubes

This is one of the cabinets being installed in our area by CityFibre.  I think these purple things are just tubes through which fibre can be fed/pushed/pulled/blown/sucked when needed - I don't think there's any actual fibre yet!  

There is a covered access point on the kerb outside each house now, and I presume if one orders fibre they will then need to add a trench from that access point to the house across the garden. 

For most people they have placed the point next to a section of lawn so it's an easy dig.  Ours looks like it will need a trench dug across our drive because of the way our house sits - at least to get to the same point the telecom cable comes in.  Something of a disincentive to get it installed I think...

Or maybe they will have a clever and less intrusive way of connecting us up - along the lawn to the garage then along the wall or inside or using a drain or something...

Our broadband is pretty good already so given the price increase for full fibre I don't think I'm in any rush to find out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.