Tea for One

In order to help accommodate one of our cast, rehearsal tonight was brought forward - 5 until 8 rather than the usual 7.30 to 10. In the end, it was all a bit moot, when the person in question cried off because her sister had started showing “symptoms” and she thought it best to stay away until PCR tests could be taken. Let us hope tests are negative and her sister has nothing more than the cold that is doing the rounds at the moment.
I thought I’d go to the gym before the rehearsal started and, because Mrs C would be out when I got home, I would have a Chinese for tea. A brilliant plan with only one teensy flaw. Due to school run traffic I was late getting to the gym and only had time to do 75% of today’s programme before having to break off and go to the rehearsal. Nothing for it but to dive back in to the gym at 8 o’clock and do the 100 sit ups that completed the programme. At least I felt I’d deserved my chicken and roast pork fried rice when I sat down to eat it - with a nice cup of tea, of course.
Apart from that, today has seen more filling of holes in walls and taking things down to be put away before the decorators arrive. Not to mention the weekly food shop and dealing with responses to my advert offering our old settee for sale. So far we’ve had one person asking to view and then changing their mind, one booked in for a viewing tomorrow and one on standby in case of a no show! Fingers crossed we can get it shifted. Hopefully before the decorators arrive, ideally before the carpet fitters turn up and definitely by the time the new suite arrives at the end of the month!
More of the same tomorrow - gym, filling holes and tidying things away. And to add a bit of spice to that heady mix of fun, I think I’ll be getting a haircut some time in the afternoon. Oh, it’s an exciting and varied life when you’re retired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.