La vida de Annie

By Annie

Ninety-nine...

...and counting. An early get-it-out-of-the-way blip because I'm going to be busy later, refreshing my scant knowledge of auras, energy fields and chakras, on a course run by Helen, my lovely Reiki master. All the positive energy flowing around should hopefully lift me out of the recent Slough of Despond.

Actually I've just come back from a great (and rare) night out. It was my bellydance teacher's birthday party, and all her pupils were doing various performances. Despite 2 days without sleep I managed to get through my 2 group numbers without mishap, although with elegance too was probably a bit over-optimistic. After a huge buffet and several stiff drinks I found I had the energy to boogie on down to the disco for a couple of hours too. This is something I have been too selfconscious to do for many years now, but the atmosphere was so friendly, and many of the bellies much larger than mine, that I found I could really lose my inhibitions for once. Probably looked like a sad old git in a coin-belt, but who cares? Dee, my teacher, is all of 70 years old now, but looks 45 and dances beautifully. What an inspiration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.