Project

Walking the land has inspired a project. Stay tuned. In the meantime, this poem by Sydney Eddison (thanks again for the book, Paula), pretty much captures the theme.

Parallel Journeys

My friends are traveling
to Europe, China, and Vietnam
while I sit here
at the kitchen table
as I have done
each day
for so many years.

The travelers stand in groups
gazing upward
at stained glass windows
and the marble agonies of Christ.
I look out across a garden
surrounded by woodland trees,
close-set and reaching for the sun.

The wayfarers visit temples
and study the passive countenance
of Buddha.
I stay at home
and contemplate the field
that in my lifetime
has become a forest.

In ancient monuments,
my traveling friends seek beauty
and answers to the question
of who we are
while I watch the trees grow
and search within for
that glimmer of transcendent light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.