Point and Shoot

By shirleypickford

What's the deal?

Friday afternoon traffic on local roads is full of families heading for weekends on the North Wales coast, so I planned a trip to the shops that would go against the prevailing flow and stopped afterwards for a hot chocolate at the butty van at near the RNLI station. Most of the holiday traffic goes through Flint without realising there is a fabulous ancient castle.
As I crossed the road after parking, a driver called from his window, "What's the deal with the castle?" There were children in the car, so I was especially glad to reply that the castle was very old and free to visit. While getting a drink, I found out that Flintshire is preparing to charge for the car park and Cadw plans to charge for entry to the castle. Perhaps the half dozen people who had gathered with children and dogs for a break in the sunshine would be willing to pay for parking, but for me it would probably make that stop an expensive hot chocolate as I live five minutes down the road. As for paid entry to the castle, I doubt visitor numbers could justify the cost as visitors might expect some amenities for their money.
Meanwhile, it's free for now to visit the 900 year old ruin and get some fresh air, enjoy the wide view across the Dee Estuary and take a walk along the coastal path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.