A Back View

From the door of the Royal Bank of Scotland in North St David Street, Henry Dundas, 1st Viscount Melville, atop his statue in St Andrew Square appears to be attached to the head of SirJohn Hope, 4th Earl of Hopetoun, such is the alignment between the two statues.
Dundas is in disgrace having been involved in postponing the abolition of the slave trade in this country but Hope seems in the clear.

I was first customer through the door of the bank this morning with a query about my new bank card which wasn’t behaving as it should. With everything sorted I was free to award myself my penultimate free coffee at M&S.

Today has been such a different day to yesterday, gloomy and chilly with not a breath of wind. It was odd that it brought back clear memories of days like this over 50 years ago as a very inexperience new Mum pushing my first born in her pram around the streets of Hamilton- a real déja vue.

My virtual log fire is burning on the TV this evening and the lamps are lit. The nights are fair drawing in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.