sydbin

By sydbin

Time present and Time past

I feel like a time traveller here; in my consciousness I am in Lochgelly Secondary School, a young teacher entering a lifetime career in 1960 after National Service.
In my mind I stand in a classroom on a sunny August afternoon asking a first year class to write about themselves. I believe I stand on the very spot that prefaced forty or so years of story telling that was my career.
The vision passes and I find myself with a camera in The Lochgelly Centre built and rebuilt as a theatre and community asset on the site of the old school fallen victim to what passes for Progress.
Today, I believe, there is a great need for Drama, creative activities and story telling to balance the philosophies of the modern Gradgrinds.
And so I visit this site now to learn where once I taught. That for me is a kind of progress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.