58jc

By 58jc

Random

The greenery and flora surrounding the hotel is stunning with many colourful tropical plants. I have memories of my grandad growing these plants in his greenhouse (carefully tended and heated). I recall regularly being told off as I would play with the water and watering cans. I also remember the smell of the greenhouse - humid and earthy. For some random reason I also recall the line from a song ‘may the bird of paradise fly up your nose’!! Had to google to make sure I was not making it up and it’s there. Although I thought it would be by Bonzo Dog Dodah Band or Jake Thackeray, and did not recognise the artist.

I wonder if I could grow Bird of Paradise (strelitzia) but with the rising cost of fuel maybe couldn’t afford to heat the greenhouse.

Lying in the sun all day ( apart from reading books) gives me time to ponder such thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.