The Magic Scot

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

I had lunch with Fazzy and Tanvi today. They had never met before but they got on very well and were taking the p1ss out of me within minutes. 

Tanvi wanted information on moving to the UK (despite my advice). She hates the cold and the dark and the rain, which made Fazzy wrinkle her nose. Fazzy spent three years in Birmingham, twenty years ago.

"And is it really GREY?" asked Tanvi, innocently.
"Oh my god yes. It's GREY," replied Fazzy.
"I thought that was just in the movies," replied Tanvi.

But we explained the concept of "central heating" to her and she started to warm to the idea ha ha do you see what I did there.

So it was a lovely lunch and I thanked Fazzy for giving us her time. In her turn, she explained to me that the "magic words" I have the witches say in my stories for her children have proved popular. 

"Oh good grief," she said. "Now my children are running around the house saying 'jings crivvens help ma boab'."

I told her it was an "Oor Wullie" thing, and that it makes me smile that her children are now casting spells in Scottish*.

In the evening the Princess called me, and she also found this amusing. Once again, I came away from that conversation feeling warm and lovely inside. Maybe Scottish really is magic.

S.

* I also have one of the witches cast a spell by proclaiming: "A plennin' bridie! An an ingin an anaw!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.