Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Compost

Enriching soil requires fertilizer. Horses and chickens make~fertilizer.
Right in the center of the montage, between the horse that is so generously kissing me while I try to hold the camera out to take our picture together, and myself, one can see two buckets of compost.

I'm so grateful to my friend who let us do some horsing around (*sigh* I just had to say it) while collecting some horsie extract for cooking up some lovely flowers!

It's lovely to think about all the moments of our days being combined and 'cooked' to make up the sweet little old ladies and gentlemen we want to be someday. I want my heart to be fertile soil for laughter and love, patience and kindness, endurance and hope, truth and courage and the grace of God which grows there every day. There's a kind of rich feeling you have when wandering around a barn, chickens at your feet, and horses nibbling at your neck. A kind of feeling that gets planted in your heart like a seed, and promises to bloom another day. It promises to spread the warmth of this moment, at random times, and in unexpected places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.