Journies at home

By journiesathome

Josette en rosé

The last lesson finished at 6 o'clock.  It wasn't even worth the effort.  The school days start too early and end too late.
Madeleine's theory is that there is no perfect moment to be at school.  Between 8 and 10 you're just waking up.  Between 10 and 12 you're hungry.  Between 14h and 16h you're digesting and from 16h to 18h you're tired.  
It's a marathon at the best of times, but this is the last week of the half term and it feels as if another 10 miles have been added.
I drove Madeleine back at the end of our lessons.  I needed a gin at #10 and for Emma to help me do all the stuff that needs to be done when you have to get on a plane and go anywhere.
I'd forgotten that I'd invited Josette for an apéro.  
Emma told her that a child had thrown up over me and I was having a shower and she was washing my clothes.  It was a garbled and fictitious story and Josette rightly wouldn't swallow it.  
She waited outside the door with her hands on her hips and a bottle of rosé at her feet and was there an hour later.
My heart folded and I followed her back to her house.  We opened the rosé and sat amongst the grease and the piles and piles of stuff.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.