Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More of the same…

Despite all your good wishes, a niggling cough kept me awake ALL night. Just as well I was able to catch up on sleep during the day, when the coughing was still present, but in waves, with long periods of peace. 

So it was another day in bed for me. With added bangings from above. The new neighbours, who haven’t moved in yet, are beginning to get things done, and they’re putting in central heating - very topical, as it’s been on the news all the day about COP26 and how we’re to be getting rid of gas boilers and installing heat pumps costing £10,000. Anyway, I don’t think they’re practical for tenement buildings, so they’ll have to think of something better.

The bangings will get worse tomorrow, as the gas men proper are here - I think someone was just pulling up carpets today. But hey-ho, I can’t complain - we’ve done our fair share of renovations and banging around too. Archie does get a bit puzzled, though, at all the odd noises, and gives wee harrumphs.

JR took him out to the ‘yard again. 

I’ve got some ‘Night Nurse’ for tonight, on Nicky’s recommendation. Fingers crossed.

Photo by my assistant

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.