Certainly Uncertain

By shyBadger

Baba Marta

Early in March, I noticed these white and red tassels hanging in a tree on one of my daily walks. Just today, I noticed they had fallen on the ground and I had grown kind of fond of them so I brought them with me on our walk. I had been at work and a doctors visit all day, so the evening walk was my last chance for an outdoor blip - so here it is, being tossed by Ms. Corra :) I did a quick search for what they meant, and apparently they are a Bulgarian tradition. March 1st is a holiday, Baba Marta (Grandmother March) and is meant to welcome Spring. I can see why someone felt the need to hang this in a tree this year :) The red and white tassels are known as a martenista and are worn for the whole month of March. The more you know :) This seems like such a wonderful tradition! So glad I got to learn about it.

Mr. Badger took me out on a little date - clothes shopping and some yummy Chinese food from our favorite place :D I am a lucky lady!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.