Home Again

I’ve had a lovely first day at home. I woke up very well with a bit of discomfort but no pain and I’ve stayed like that all day. The drugs are doing their job well. I made porridge for breakfast and have done nothing else except to nap and sit on the couch with Tim. He made an excellent supper.

My surgery involved four robotic arms to assist the keyhole. There’s more on this space age technology here. It’s meant to assist an easier recovery and so far it’s doing exactly that. Evidently there are about 80 of these robots in the UK at well over £1 million each. The maintenance cost on one machine is £250,000 a year. I was kept in private rooms for three days (two nights) and at least a dozen staff were involved in my care and surgery. I have no idea how much my surgery cost, but it must be in the tens of thousands. I would never have been able to afford it if I had to pay other than through taxation. 

The staff were amazing and when I was fresh out of surgery I was really cared for by a wonderful woman called Diana from Romania. When she went off shift, she handed me over to another wonderful woman called Precious from the Philippines. So many other nationalities all devoted to caring for another immigrant. 

Heaven bless the NHS and immigrants! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.