JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 212

There is a green hill far away .... The first line from a Good Friday Hymn.

The green hill here is Berwick Law, seen across the very windy Firth of Forth from Portobello Beach. Gosford House's imposing west facing wing can be seen on the right among the coastal trees with its splendid gate house a little further left. The built up blur in front of Berwick Law is, I think, Gullane. North Berwick and Dirleton lurk behind the dunes and the white shape on the extreme left is The Bass Rock. ( If I have got any of this wrong, I am sure someone will correct me!)

On this occasion I was using my Canon and tripod. Despite the evening sunshine, the icy wind of the sea was eye-wateringly cold. One brave family were exercising their young on the water's edge to burn off excess end of day energy. Two joggers were putting in the icy miles. Otherwise it was a very bleak and empty promenade this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.