Journies at home

By journiesathome

Trailer Trash

I could hear Josette calling me.  She was somewhere in the moulin.  Her voice got nearer so I hid in the workshop/soon-to-be bathroom.  She found me and said she needed to have a drink.  She seemed distressed so I took her out to the gin den with a couple of glasses of wine.  Jean-Michel's been unkind to her again, if he doesn't change she'll sell up and go and live somewhere else.  Since his girlfriend Lizzie has come back from seeing her parents in England he has become less and less concerned with his mother's well being and she isn't happy.  He'd told her to get off his back, give him a break and go and find a man.  She'd remonstrated that at 85 she was a bit old for that.
In all fairness Jean-Michel has a heavy burden to carry.  His mother could blow away in a breeze but is needy and persistent and at least once a month he loses his temper and tells her he never wants to see her again.  
I mutter the same tired platitudes about a son needing his mother and he'll be back.  
She watched us rake the leaves into the trailer and said that when she was a child she piled them high and hid in them.  To make her happy I set a crate at the back of the trailer and she climbed in and disappeared.  
This was rather distressing so I climbed in to try and find her.  
No child dressed up as a ghost or a vampire on All Soul's night could beat her.  She looked like a corpse in a shallow grave.  After a while she popped back up, we brushed her down and off she went.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.