Girls on a day out

I spent the day in Sheffield today with R. We had originally planned to go to London, but thought that it might be too strenuous for me, so try somewhere closer first.

B dropped me off at R’s. I was surprised and delighted to see a squirrel sitting on the grass in the back garden, no time for a snap before he dashed off. 

Our first port of call in Sheffield was a quirky New Zealand owned and run coffee shop called Tamper, for coffee and delicious Jaffa brownie.

We then went to the Showroom Cinema to see the Alpinist, a documentary about the Canadian climber Marc-Andre Leclerc. A young man who climbs solo, no ropes just crampons and ice axes. It was an amazing 90 minutes film, very thought provoking. Search for details if you are curious. Wonderful scenery, extreme athleticism, supportive relationships and some sadness.

There were only 4 blokes, apart from us watching the film. There are numerous screens so not sure what the general attendance was like.

Then next door to a cafe in an art gallery, for lunch. It had delicious food with generous portions and was a lively place. The Hallam Uni netball team were preparing to set off for a match, with energy stores full.

A wander through areas of the city centre revealed an amazing mixture of old and new architecture. There is a lot of new building going on, but I’m not sure what it will be used for as many of the big stores have closed. It was sad to see the empty John Lewis store. The last time we were in there was a couple of years back when we went to Sheffield City Hall for R’s MBA graduation.

The final visit was to IKEA. I was like a kid at Christmas when I heard where we were going. Sad isn’t it :0(  I certainly got my walking exercise done, it’s easy when you are distracted. I bought a few things that I couldn’t possibly leave without !!! 

B collected me from R’s when we got back. I’m pleased that I didn’t drive over as I was so tired, also pleased that I wasn’t sitting at Kings Cross Station waiting for a train, if we had gone to London.

A super day out, just what I need, the changing environments and mental stimulation. Lunch was sufficient to last me all day, next meal will be breakfast!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.