and through the wire...

By hesscat

Arniston Bridge #10

Now we are talking, a big bridge over a big river. Bridges 1-9  have been crossings for the Purvies Hill Burn, but after #9 it joins the biggest river around here, River South Esk which comes from several reservoirs and the Moorfoot Hills, and flows on to join River North Esk, and then on to the Firth of Forth.

I've decided to blip the bridges by following the various rivers in clockwise order, so am now heading upstream of the South Esk. I think I knew this already, but had forgotten, but bridge #10 is called Horace's Bridge, I've yet to find out why but have just been googling these bridges. From what I can tell these bridges are 250-300 years old, some of which have been built from remnants of Parliament House in Edinburgh.

I also read that the bridges #4 and onwards are "rustic" bridges, which were designed to encourage growth of mosses and ferns, OMG, I thought they were just left to fend for themselves. This fact changes EVERYTHING...

Anyway, here's Horace... although I said #9 was my favourite, which "bridge wise" probably still is, this might be my favourite river section. It is still full from recent rain and I risked life and limb taking these photos, wading above the falls, climbing down/up steep embankments - this was definitely the most dangerous bridge to blip... having said that, bridges 1-9 had zero danger. Arlo did accompany me at each view, but I kept him out of the water, which he was happy to do anyway.

I have a feeling this is going to be my favourite blip of the bridges - if you haven't noticed by now, I like having favourites, and options to change my favourites at the drop of a hat. The next bridge will be the biggest one, and maybe my least favourite, although it might be my favourite experience of blipping them all... all will be revealed, it needs some planning.

While messing about at this bridge and marvelling at the river, I started thinking about having a river series, to keep me occupied, if I ever finish these blipping bridges! At least 7 to go me thinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.