Remembrance 7

At a risk of repeating myself I am amazed at people’s generosity, six days in and the running total from the Sainsbury’s Poppy Appeal is staggering. I’m not allowed to reveal the total nor the amount collected at the Pirates match on the Saturday. What I can say is that when you consider that Cornwall has a high ‘poverty’ rate when compared to the rest of the U.K the amount given by local people is amazing.

So aside from two shifts manning the appeal stand what else did I get up to, short answer, not much. Mrs S and I are attending the Cornwall Pegasus, (Parachute Regiment), Dinner on Saturday night and in preparation I am reading “The Devils Birthday” reckoned to be the best and most accurate account of WWII’s Operation Market Garden, filmed as ‘A Bridge Too Far’. I do have another source of Parachute Regiment info and stories, my brother Gary served 23 in the Parachute Regiment.
Looking forward as always to the evening.

Today’s photo, a random shrub from Foxes Gardens which Paddy always seems to make a bee line for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.