The Arboretum at Shugborough

Yesterday, The Times included the Arboretum at Shugborough in their article on 20 winter gardens to visit.

I hadn’t realised that they have an internationally renowned collection of nearly a hundred oak trees, and that the walk through this part of the estate is absolutely stunning. I’d never walked it before this morning. Now, I agree with The Times that this must be in the top 20. (Even though they wrongly located it in Shropshire.) 

If you know the estate, you cross the red bridge by the Chinese House, regularly blipped by me and others. The road leads round through these magnificent trees until you arrive at a corresponding blue bridge. It’s wonderful. 

Mind you, I was glad to see the buggy available to take me back to the car park. 

My extra shows the bench and plaque placed in honour of Anne, Viscountess Anson, later Princess of Denmark, by her children. Something else I hadn’t realised about this very special place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.