Never Forget

In commemoration of Armistice Day a shot of my little collection of poppy pins. Not sure why I don’t have a “1915 - 2015” one. Maybe I thought the “1914 - 2014” one had been a one off and they wouldn’t be doing any more! And it is the First World War that I specifically remembered this morning during the two minutes silence at 11am. My parents were too young - and my grandparents too old - to serve in WW2 but my grandfather and numerous great uncles all served in the First World War - as did both of Mrs C’s grandfathers. Thankfully, all bar one of my great uncles came back safe and sound though, in common with most of their generation, they never spoke about what they saw or experienced. It is only now they have gone that I have been able to piece together some of their movements and have been able to go to France and look out over peaceful meadows that would have been scenes of unimaginable carnage back then. And it is because of the sacrifice of the millions who fell in that and subsequent conflicts, that we should never forget. I sincerely hope that the annual remembrance will continue throughout my lifetime and beyond.
The two minute silence was the last bit of peace and quiet I had today. A session in the gym straight after was followed by frantic packing for a few days away in Chester. Unfortunately, due to a cock up at the doctors, Mrs C’s prescription was not ready to pick up, so we were running an hour late by the time we left Kendal. Which meant we basically ran through the door of the flat, unpacked and then bolted down a microwave meal, before turning round and heading out again. We are going to see “Riverdance” at the Liverpool Empire tonight and have been told to turn up at a specific (very early, by our standards) time. Thankfully, light traffic and a last minute sprint across the station bridge meant we caught the train we had been aiming to catch all day. Back on schedule now, so time to write this blip and relax before this evening’s entertainment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.