Last Rose

A very unexpected appearance.  The next flower will most likely not come out till spring next year.  I wonder what (our) life will be like by then, as there are so many changes one after another in the 'outside world'.  Luckily, maybe, a little bit more stability for us.  A lot of waiting to do still.

In the latter half of the afternoon, old friend, Gubs, who owns and manages a courier service, called to ask AW if he was available for two deliveries across the border.  AW, with his not-so-good back, replied in the negative.  I happened to be in the area, and my ears picked up the conversation.  To make it short, I'll be driving into Germany tomorrow.  It will be an early start as the two places are far apart -- Kreuztal close to Cologne and Lübmin way past Rostock and close to the Baltic Sea.  First I need to pick up the minivan at Gub's place, and then part of the merchandise in another town close by, and then off to the east.  Gubs already fetched the goods for Lübmin.  Anyway, spent the time just before bed studying my route on Google maps.  Will need to bring along cushions for the minivan (for my back, if needed, so I can reach the pedals), a sleeping bag (there'll be a well-lighted lay-by), maybe some food and definitely some tea, plus my usual stuff + the camera, of course.  Exciting!  But I'm also keen to make everything go well.  The client in Lübmin is a well-known brand and I'm curious about its plant.  I doubt I'll get to see the Baltic when I get there, though, as it'll be dark by then.  AW is anxious and wants me to come home in one piece.  Believe me, so do I.  I hope the minivan has a phone charger as the batteries of my mobile are empty in no time when I'm on the road.

Cleaned up entirely in the kitchen, and the laundry will be dry by the time I get back.  Will be away for about 36 hours.  See you then!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.