A brilliant day

I was brave enough to try an off road safari. I was by far the oldest of the six of us, but I kept up, leaping in and out of the Land Rover.

The driver was amazing. It was exhilarating but I was never scared. Almost vertical drops, huge boulders and ridges that took all his 4 by 4 skills.

We left the ordinary road near Tabua, and climbed up and up to the plateau, at least 1500 metres above sea level. The views were terrific.

We crossed over to the North coast and spent some time at Ribeira da Janela, as in my blip. This stunning volcanic outcrop has been something I’ve always passed at a distance, snatching the odd shot from a moving minibus.

Today I was able to view it closely, from the beach. 

I must have had twenty photos I’d have loved to share.

The day was special - just five of us plus our brilliant driver. A Finnish couple, a Latvian student of Economics, a lovely guy from South Korea. We really got on well. 

I’ll never forget this experience. 

Two extras from the safari.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.