no more plants

The only plants left in the design are both wild and native, so no local plant shop sells them, and no big name internet plant shop sells them, and today I learned the ones I ordered aren't coming until Spring.

I have nothing left to plant. 

Sympathy cards can be sent to ...

Ten plus years ago I regularly applied grass seed in hopes of growing grass. One year I lucked out and the seed sprouted! I had thousands of tiny little grass plants growing. Then we had a massive rainstorm, they all floated away, and my neighbor had excellent grass that year.

The plants I replanted yesterday are delicate, thin strands with little roots and little leaves growing out of them. I do know enough to know that you don't bury the leaves, so I only lightly planted each.

Last night, listening to the massive rain, I remembered my grass floating away.

I definitely checked today and I did find most of them and picked beautiful yellow maple leaves off of them. 

It is another crazy magical plant. It stays incredibly low to the ground, forming a living mulch. It puts out two flowers next to each other, and if they both get fertilized, they make a berry. It is evergreen! It is still used for medicinal purposes. Birds eat the berries. 

Happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.