All that jazz

By frankbrett

Venturing Out

Took myself down to Alexandra Palace for the first 'big' gig in over 2 years. This one was Yussef Dayes - a fantastic jazz-orientated drummer from South London, and his band. Although the musicianship was excellent, it was spoilt somewhat for me by a heavy emphasis on the bass (I know it's the thing these days - it's all Drum'n'Bass) and a consequently very muddy sound. In fact the second support act was DJ Gilles Peterson (of BBC Radio 6) - so that set the tone. I was somewhat above the average age of the audience :-)

Still, Yussef is amazing to watch so overall I enjoyed it and felt it was worth the effort of getting there from a little town in the Midlands. Alexandra Palace is also amazing - it's HUGE. The theatre takes up just one small corner. I had no idea.  

Also glad to see that so many people were wearing masks on the London stations and that Ally Pally insisted on everyone having a Covid Pass. There is some sense somewhere.

Hopefully going with Ros to another concert in London next weekend. It will be more subdued! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.