The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Nifty Fifty

I've really enjoyed shooting with the 50mm Nikor lens I found in a thrift store cut out bin this last summer ($8 after my old guy discount). Attached to my dslr it's seemed like old times, back in the day when I was out and about with my Pentax K-1000.

Having used kit/zoom lenses for a while now I've gotten (for the want of a better word) lazy. They bring the picture I want to my camera. With this lens it's the other way around, something I was particularly aware of this morning on my camera ride. By bringing the camera to the picture I wanted I felt, in a very satisfying way, more engaged in the process and part of the end result - the image. Waxing philosophical, I guess each is a selfie of sorts.

Having set out this week wanting to put the "nifty-fifty" through its paces in a variety of settings and conditions, another collage seemed appropriate. Today was a "sunny 16" sort of day anyway so while I cropped them in post I was able to leave most of them "straight out of camera" ... and the adventure through the viewfinder continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.