Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Operation Chocolate!

My husband doesn't eat many sweet things, following a diabetes scare a few years ago, but he's obsessed with a brand of sugar-free chocolate bars he can only get at Lidl in Horley so off we pootled there this morning to re-stock. We got there just as their Remembrance Day parade started and it was an amazing sight - and sound! I used to love taking part in the parade in East Grinstead, when my kids were in the Scouts (and later after I became a leader). The parade today was a mixture of old and young, with almost every gender, race and military organisation represented, just as it should be. A very poignant sight (even if my photo’s blurry!).


I've put a picture of this morning's visitor to the garden in the 'extras', as well as one for Bootneck and boyzee - me winning a tank-driving day 20-odd years ago. I've never been in the military but I'm hugely grateful for all those who have... and that I’ve never had to drive a tank ‘for real’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.