trusting experts

q) are you only going to post pictures of your tree?
a) well, not once the leaves fall off

For wide Wednesday I wanted to show you the swoosh to the right. 

I got a neighbor to plant a Shirazz Japanese Maple a few years ago. He got a very small one. It is a few inches taller now than it was then. This was the tree that had me first fantasizing about Japanese Maples. I looked at the leaves tonight and I dearly love these better. 

Life is so much easier when you can trust the experts. 

Whenever Karen and I had a discussion about the garden, if she disagreed she'd ask what Kate thought and then was always comfortable going with what Kate said. Examples included what to do with roots when planting and whether this tree would be ok. 

The housing association had four arborists come out and look at the community trees and give us opinions and quotes. I was hoping the tree could just be trimmed, because squirrels! Birds! My neighbor wanted the tree cut down, period. We were all comfortable with doing whatever the experts suggested. None of the arborists thinks the big tree behind us needs to go. They all think it needs to be trimmed. Because we are all willing to go along with the experts there is no fighting. 

I would blame the US anti-vax sentiment on the historical results of the ugly combination of profit motive and health care, but Britain has it too. So I don't get it. 

Spain has a really high vaccination rate, ~80%. This morning I read an article about how well Spain was doing. Looking for a citation, this evening I found articles on how cases are starting to go up. 

Thank goodness for booster shots and I hope we all get ours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.