B.A.C.K. to Basics

By AmyT

Stickered

In life, you meet and connect with some incredible people who are just good for your soul. It’s like that with one family at my office. They’ve been patients for years. I remember hearing about their wedding, when they first announced they were pregnant, the arrival of their first, then birthdays, the second baby announcement and arrival. Their girls have literally grown up at my office. Two years ago, their oldest, Elsie, opted to sit with me at my desk while Mom went in for her adjustment. She happily played with binder clips and erasers. Then every visit after that, she wanted to stay with me, and I happily obliged. As she grew we colored and played with stickers. When her sister came along, we waited to invite her to our “exclusive party” until recently. Now I have both girls sitting with me at my desk. Elsie is 3, Iva is one.

Tonight, it hit me that my evenings of coloring and sticker fun are numbered. The girls happily played and “decorated”my arm, each taking turns placing a sticker. Although we will most likely continue to stay in touch via social media, it just won’t be the same. These girls, and their parents, will always hold a special place in my heart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.