Fidelio means faithful

A few days ago i've been at the opera. Not the "State Opera House", nor the "People's Opera House", the "Theater an der Wien" (Theatre on the Wien River) is the right place to see Fidelo, Ludwig van Beethoven's only opera. The premiere took place more than 200 years ago in this house.

Fidelio belongs to the genre of rescue opera which was popular around the time of the french revolution and campaigned against tyranny and in favour of freedom of the individual in accordance with the enlightenment.

In the last century this opera has often been "hijacked" by all kinds of governments to serve its own propaganda.

I didn't understand a lot of the plot but i really enjoyed the sung quartet (Marzelline, Leonore, Rocco, and Jaquino) about the love Marzelline has for Fidelio ... Mir ist so wunderbar - A wondrous feeling fills me

--------
MARZELLINE
Mir ist so wunderbar,
es engt das Herz mir ein;
er liebt mich, es ist klar,
ich werde glücklich, glücklich sein.

LEONORE
Wie gross ist die Gefahr,
wie schwach der Hoffnung Schein!
Sie liebt mich, es ist klar,
oh, namen-, namenlose Pein!

ROCCO
Sie liebt ihn, es ist klar,
ja, Mädchen, er wird dein!
Ein gutes, junges Paar,
sie werden glücklich, glücklich sein!

JAQUINO
Mir sträubt sich schon das Haar,
der Vater willigt ein;
mir wird so wunderbar,
mir fällt kein Mittel ein.
--------
Marcellina
A wondrous feeling fills me and grips my very heart.
He loves me, it is clear: oh, how happy I shall be!

Leonora
How great the danger is, how weak the ray of hope!
She loves me, it is clear: o unutterable anguish!

Rocco
She loves him, it is clear. Yes, child, he shall be yours.
They'll make a fine young couple I hope they'll be happy.

Jaquino
My hair stands up on end; her father favours him.
Feelings of dread fill me; I see no way ahead.

------------

Beethoven composed Fidelio in the house you see in the photo, 4th floor. It's the so called "Pasqualatihaus", named after its owner, was built in the eighteenth century and is located on Mölker Bastei, part of the remains of the old city fortifications.
Altogether Ludwig van Beethoven (born in Bonn, Germany) worked in Vienna for 35 years. Thereof he spent 8 years living in this apartment.

I've never been visiting the museum in here, maybe i sould, one day ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.