Polly's Pictures

By PollyH

4 weeks on...

... and these carnations are still blooming even though they are getting a little floppy.  I change the water every 3 days and trim a bit off the stems.  This seems to keep cut flowers lasting longer.
Had a very enjoyable meal with my neighbours.  Some fried rice balls on a bed of home pickled vegetables.  The fish stew was also very tasty and with a choice of adding some tiny hot chillies, that had a strange scented taste.
They always ask me lots of questions about the English way of life and last night was no exception.  Workhouses and the start of the NHS proved to be of interest.  
The fine wine was not a problem because I only had a few yards to walk home!
Charity shop this morning and have spent the afternoon preparing the meal for my visiting friends tonight.  Experimenting with a new chicken dish involving mustard, honey and lemon juice.  We go back a long way so they do not mind me using them as guinea pigs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.