Bompa

By Bompa

Spring butterflies

Today we attempted to drive to a lake where we have a cabin. The road was good most of the way but eventually turned into two tire tracks in the melting snow. There was bare gravel at the bottom of the tracks but, since the road condition was deteriorating the further we went, we decided to turn back. Just before reaching the snow-covered part of the road we had stopped so I could take photos of butterflies. That's right, butterflies amongst the snow. There were truly hundreds of them. They fluttered above the road and I was surrounded by them as I walked. Many were on the ground. When I got down to their level I discovered they were placing their proboscises on damp stones to have a drink. Emerging so early when the ground is mostly snow-covered is a good strategy for these butterflies as there are few, if any, predators around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.