Electronics

It is Black Friday.  We've never taken heed of it.  Until today.  I mentioned some posts ago that my mobile phone was ageing faster than I was, but that AW was waiting for an 'event' such as today.  I jumped on the bandwagon this time.  He and I both looked online and decided to go to one of those huge wholesalers, specifically that one with the red logo, but it was so terribly busy there and we needed to wait for an attendant because, of course, everything is under lock and key for obvious reasons.  We waited and looked, and looked again and waited again, and AW even went to the washing machine section because we need a new one, too.  When he returned and we hadn't been assisted yet, he suggested we go to another, just around the corner, with the logo of blue and green, a lot smaller but cozier.  Clearly they hadn't spent that much in advertising because there weren't all that many people inside, but the products were the same and the prices 80% lower than those in the larger shop.  In short, after reviewing their selection, we walked out with a new Samsung for me, including a cable to charge it in the car and a safety case.  The washing machine will be ordered online from another shop.

All of that in the rain.  On the way back to the car, stopped for a small bucket of KFC, our first visit there in more than two years.  AW didn't have live bridge in the evening so he watched television while I paid some attention to Queen Mary.  Her life was an unfortunate train of tragic events, one after the other.  We are okay, all things considered, so much to be thankful for, nonetheless.

This shot is of the Sony radio in my workroom, now about 20 years old and still going.  You can't see it in the shot, but it still has a section for cassette tapes.  That's how old it is.  I believe I still have a handful, so maybe, one of these days, I'll try one out again.  Most likely, though, I'll forget about it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.