Shining Stars

Not the greatest of pics but a fabulous late night or, if you prefer, early morning.
The bar shut comparatively early, but we stayed up into the night simply enjoying being together again.

I like and have affection for everyone in this picture, I've shared adventures with many of them - but I'm not embarrassed to say there's one I really love, who holds a special place in my heart, who always fills me with joy.

Theoretically Spike and I met by random chance - assigned to share a room on a course a decade ago - but really I think sometimes the universe knows the what, when & who of the help you really need even when you haven't yet fathomed the why. Two strangers forced by circumstance to tell each other why they might sob, scream or simply disappear in the night - both held in the dark by horrors utterly different but ultimately the same. Spike is the bravest person I know, not just for what happened a decade ago, but even more so for the way he's lived the journey to today. I didn't necessarily see it at the time, but Spike was one of the stars that guided me back into the light.
All those years ago there were tears, laughter, scotch and hugs. We used much the same recipe last night.

In extras - a memento for me. It can be a tough gig delivering mental health first aid to your peers - we're a community & we support each other - but everyone has a tale and they can be tough to hear. Sometimes its good to know you're getting it right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.