Just Visiting

Up and away early, Jacqui & James had already left for work leaving instructions for either Charlotte or George to cook breakfast. Everybody but me works and needs their rest so I slipped out without waking anyone.
First stop was Aldershot Military Cemetery to visit my Mum and Dad. It’s changed a bit, the huge Elm tree that shaded the area has gone and the surrounds have been modified. I’m not certain it’s an improvement, some of the headstones appear to be leaning, some side to side, some front to back, some both, let’s hope it’s a work in progress.
Always peaceful it’s an oasis of calm in a busy garrison town. The deer are rarely seen but they are there, the eaten flower tributes are evidence, there are always new additions and it’s always well looked after and open.
Still bitterly cold I stayed around forty-five minutes tidying and weeding, I picked up a wreath blown from somewhere by the wind and placed it there, I’m sure that the original donor and recipient won’t mind.
I checked on my brother-in-law Phil’s headstone, the lettering is fading and will need some attention soon but otherwise all was ok.

Next stop my brother Gary and his family in Farnborough. I saw Gary recently in Plymouth for Sarah’s graduation but I haven’t seen Ellie and the children for over two years. I enjoyed my hour catching up over a coffee but all too soon it was time to get going.

I went non stop from Farnborough to the McDonalds in Falmouth, collected dinner for three and was home by 5:00pm.
I enjoyed my weekend away but it’s good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.