The Little Hats

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

We have California Quail! They come and hang out in the back garden!

Caro sees them all the time. And we had a joke for a while that they only come around when I am out. But today I finally saw them!

The reason I was alerted is that they are really noisy. The female was calling for the male and it kind of sounded like a chicken meowing. He (the one with the black bandit mask) arrived shortly afterward and then they pecked around our garden, being just adorable.

What I love about them is their adorable little hats. Oh all right they are called, "plumes" if you are being strictly correct. But to me, they are hats. 

They were introduced as a game bird apparently, but not in my garden. Here they are welcome visitors. 

I'm watching you, Punky.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.