Well travelled

This wasn’t my intended blip today as we were going into Lincoln for hair appointments, so I expected to capture decorations or the likes. But as I left the hairdressers it started to rain, blew a gale and chucked it down. The phone stayed in my pocket and we headed home. 

I had visited Lakeland for some essentials and also bought licorice and Kendal mint cake as one does (well at least I do) and the lady serving me said that they had a new supply of licorice that was really good. 

Once home I noticed that the licorice was from Levin in New Zealand, a town in North Island. We visited the town back in 2007 when we were on holiday. I was looking for Mary, one of my nursing league members. We had lost touch with her the previous year. Her neighbour told me that she had moved to Napier, the lovely Art Deco city further north on the east coast to be near her daughter. She put me in touch with the new occupants of Mary’s house, who wrote to me in the UK saying that Mary had died. Such helpful people.

Never did I think that we would be eating sweets from the other  side of the world. I associate licorice with Pontefract cakes from Yorkshire!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.