soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

Going to the pictures

It’s the only place I go indoors regularly nowadays - apart from the odd cafe visit. This was taken leaving the cinema last night after seeing West Side Story, which I would give 5 stars (as did the Guardian). The audience comprised 7 people all wearing masks, in a huge cinema, on its opening night.  We wondered who would want to go, though? People who are fans of the 1961 one? A lot of middle/older people not keen on going out still.  For me it was an “if you only see one film this year.... “ film.  Rita Moreno was Anita in the 1961 version - she has a major role in this, aged 89, she still has a wonderful voice and owns the screen.
The huge digital advertising screen on the ring road above the cinema is showing an ad for the film I’d just seen. Unfortunately I couldn’t get a clear image of that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.