XSworld

By XSworld

Laufabrauð

Today was dedicated to tradition. For years I have met up with compatriot friends in December to make Laufabrauð for Christmas. It is an old Icelandic traditional bread (at least 300 years) from times where flour was scarse (wheat does not grow in Iceland, so it was imported and expensive) so people had to invent things to "stretch" the little flour they had as much as possible, making very thin bread (legend says it should be so thin that you can read through it). To give added value to the bread for the Christmas celbration it was decorated by cutting out leaf-like patterns before frying, a tradition remaining until today and a very important part of my Christmas mood. Basically, for me, Christmas doesn't come without it! The bread in the blip were decorated by my daughter to which I have passed on the tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.