Doodle

This is a framed piece of my artwork that I'm sending my son for Christmas. (I hope he doesn't check Blip for a couple of weeks.)  He and I have a running joke about each other's art preferences.  All the artwork in his home, with one or two exceptions, are abstracts of some sort and all the art in my home has something to do with animals, mostly cats, birds and the occasional rodent (mouse, hamster).  This is really nothing more than a doodle that I did back in 1998.  I happen to like it and I've wanted to frame it and hang it up for a long time.  I just never got around to it, until now.  My son is a little difficult to buy for so in keeping with our ongoing debate on art, I hit upon having this framed and sending it to him for Christmas, with the proviso that he may return it without penalty.  I took it to Julie, my friend and former employer, who frames art for a living and she said it reminded her of a Miro (Joan Miro 1893-1983).  High praise indeed!  I doubt my son will have much luck getting the going rate for a Miro ($35 million), but I hope it gives him a laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.