Windmill 'De Roode Leeuw', Gouda

'Roode' is the old spelling = sounds like 'row-duh' = means 'red'
'Leeuw' = 'lay-uw' = 'lion'
Together = 'the red lion'.  Sounds like the name of a pub, but no pub here. ;D)
'Gouda' = 'GHOW-dah' = Yes, the city of the famous cheese!
There used to be a number of cheese farms in the area, but the term 'Gouda cheese' actually harks back to the Gouda cheese market, and not necessarily to the local cheese.  The market sold cheese also from areas outside Gouda, but, I guess, those successfully sold at the Gouda market were perhaps of very good quality.
Whatever Gouda is famous for, it has four windmills, all of which are far apart.  The other three will be visited another time, one by one.  There used to be more.  In fact, on my walk to this windmill (I had parked properly in a parking garage), I should have seen two more, but they are no more.  A modern apartment building was constructed on the exact site of one of them, and there's a plaque on the outside wall showing the 'first stone laid', while the foundations of the mill are underground, preserved this way but, of course, totally inaccessible.  Never mind...

The sky was largely cloudless today, a huge boost to my mood, but my mood is usually something I have to work on myself.  I did that in the evening.  While I was out, AW busied himself cleaning the entire ground floor.  He was fairly in the best of spirits!  After dinner, he had Thursday bridge online, and I had my own games.  I also found myself mentally reviewing all the muscles and parts of the abdominal cavity in the human body, without notes.  This particular MOOC on the abdomen is far better than the one I took about 3 years ago, both courses given by the same university, so they have done a huge improvement on that first one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.