All Five Stages At Once

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

I was in Porirua today for two room installs, they will complete tomorrow. 

I didn't mind. It was good to be away from the office. There was no-one there anyway, apart from Corrie and she just got a new tattoo and was in pain with it, so her Corrie Bounce was gone.

Also we all got the news that Shenée's resignation has formally come through. I was sad, of course, but it was not unexpected. This was unlike most of the rest of the team who responded with utter disbelief and palpable grief. 

They had no idea what she has been going through in the background all these months and so it was a complete bombshell to them. I thought Sam was about to cry in the team meeting.

They all asked me how she was doing on the side, which I thought was very sweet. I reassured them that she is doing well and that she is happy, although sad to be going. That seemed to make things a little better. 

(I'm not exaggerating - I literally got a note from one fellow saying, "Thank you, you've made me feel a lot better.")

I know it is hard to imagine but this is the impact she had on us all. 

In a minor act of rebellion, I replied to the organisation-wide email that went out announcing her resignation. I said her team were deeply saddened but knew she would be a spectacular success wherever her next role took her. 

Oops. I accidentally hit "reply all". Oh well.

I wasn't the only one. The senior business sponsor she has mainly worked for did the same.  

CHOKE ON THAT MOFOS. 

Sorry. While I must emphasise that I have reached "acceptance" in my five stages, I am still enjoying returning to "anger" every now and again.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.