Through the Window

Followers of this journal will be getting tired of these trees growing toward the light. We’re hoping that, freed of the heavy growth they will start to look uphill. Could take several decades assuming they aren’t tested by the trials of climate change.

Having accomplished a good deal more than I have in a couple of weeks…some Pilates flat on my back on the floor, a nice latte at Trail House and a trip to the Yarn store. It’s a charming place with many enticements and I completely forgot to take a more interesting picture there.

By the time I got home it was time to retire to the couch again. I’m lucky to have a lap dog who can figure out how to snuggle even without a lap! The fact that I did even this much I consider a sign that I am getting better. We’ll see what the doctor says tomorrow.

We had our first reported case of the omicron variant in Sonoma County over the weekend and a January spike in cases is being predicted. It seems that rather than another shut down which ruined the economy, the educational system, and everybody’s Christmas, the government is redoubling its efforts to beg/plead/coerce/force people to get vaccinated and boosted and to wear masks in all indoor spaces.

Good luck with that….if people have gone this long without doing it I don’t really see that there is anything that will convince them. I have been through all the stages ranging from logical calm discussion to undisguised rage with these people. And I feel enormous sympathy for all the caregivers whose holidays are cancelled or have to work overtime to take care of people who not only could have avoided hospitalization, but are taking beds away from more deserving cases.

The Republicans aren’t helping much either. Apparently they think mindless, dogged opposition to everything provides them with immunity….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.