Mo

By Mo

Pending

Considering how near it is, I hardly ever go to Haddington. To be honest, I've never much liked it. Until today.

I needed to get a couple of birthday presents - a football and a rugby ball - and the nearest decent sports shops are in Haddington. I parked on a side street and cut through this pend to get to the main streets. Job done in 5 minutes, I took the time to have a peek in a couple of other shops and realised that there are actually some quite good shops in Haddington - decent homeware, a ladies' fashion shop that I think is pretty new and a bookshop with a decent coffee shop. I'm still musing on the fate of our High Street, and I know from the papers that Haddington has had its problems too, but it did strike me that Haddington was a better place for gift buying than Dunbar. So I bought a little giftie for a friend's daughter who has First Communion this weekend and went home before I spent any more.

On the way back, some sort of WWII airplane flew overhead. Sorry I can't show you it, but I was driving and I never have my camera ready. There's a WWII event on at East Fortune this weekend so that's not quite as strange as it may seem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.