And shadows on the carpet

The Beatles were a huge part of my teenage years. I remember when they broke onto the pop scene. I bought every single (I still have them) and every album. I went to see them at the Gaumont in Bradford. We used to listen endlessly to every song and knew all the words (I still do). The music and lyrics of the Beatles were the soundtrack of my young days. 

Our son-in-law is thirty years younger than me, but he is from Liverpool and also grew up with the aura of the Beatles around. He looks like a Beatle! He has all my albums as he has a turntable and I haven’t. (I then bought them all in CD format, with the original, and oh so familiar, album covers.)

Not surprising then that we both got for Christmas the huge (and heavy) two volume boxed set - 'The Lyrics’ in which Paul McCartney recounts his life and art through his songs. 

It certainly got the rest of the family guessing - what gift could link the two of us?

This is my Winter hibernation reading. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.