Happy New Year

The hazel flowers are out here. Despite everything we press on in the knowledge that nuts will grow and the squirrels will get them first.

Thank you to all of you who have commented and looked at my photos over the year.

On that flight problem see yesterday I’ve added another verse to the poem.

Down to the hazel wood

I shall go down to the hazel wood
And there cut flexing wands
To send my love by catapult
To Inverleithen ponds

To Inverleithen ponds she’ll fly
A swan from far Coole lake
The moonlit bullrush banks abounding there
Her fall to gently brake.

And then I too shall crouch down
The trebouchet wound tight
With slashing knife I’ll cut the rope
And hurl myself in flight

And far over on the Firth of Forth
I’ll be the comet crashing down
Through cloud and mist and thunderstorm
Then back on solid ground.

Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.