Frontier

By Frontier

Shelves

Rupa - Aaj Shanibar

It’s nice to see more international shops selling stuff typical to most parts of the world. Not a lot of things from the outside world come into Japan. I remember feeling disappointed when living in Australia and not having access to stuff from Japan.

Having lived here for some time now, I’m in reverse. Objects and food I found common in Australia are now so much more valued. Snacks are the big one for me. I can better understand my parents and extended family and what they felt living in Australia and not being able to get things they liked from Malaysia so easily.

I have some friends from the US and when they receive snacks from the motherland, it’s awesome to eat. I hate feeling like all foods available to us are products of shady marketing or conspiracies to make us continuously spend. It’s not true. I should be so lucky I can even buy food in the first place.

It’s nice to be able to cook very authentic food with original spice. Big difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.