flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Dishcloth

This is my winter knitting project, using a cone of lovely fine cotton yarn purchased for £1.50 in 1979 by my late Mum. I know this as the receipt is tucked inside the cone!
I learned to knit in a hurry in 1981aged 23 while at Art College and I had to take Knitting and Weaving as a second subject and at that point I could not knit! My Granny had many failed attempts to teach me as a child, I mastered crochet aged 14 which Mum taught me to do. Once I started to knit, I quickly moved on to complex patterns, Icelandic and Aran and Fair Isle - the more complex the better!
This is a favourite Shetland lace pattern and I love the idea of making something utilitarian beautiful as well. My husband, who does all the washing up, really likes using these cloths as the lace pattern makes a really nice texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.