Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

What a relief!

Got hardly any sleep last night - worried about everything from whether the roads would be icy this morning to (not least) having to meet the teacher I was covering for and hoping that everything I'd done over the past few weeks was OK. The school's IT people had also deleted my email account (not their fault, they thought I'd left now) so I didn't even know if I'd missed any important messages over the holiday. All sorted very quickly and no, I didn't, thank goodness!

As it happens, everything was fine. What a lovely person the teacher is! We even know many of the same people as we discovered that we used to work at the same school, although at different times... and there were many other coincidences as well. Turns out she was worried, too, but she said I'd done brilliantly and she really appreciated how easy I'd made her return. Phew!

I'm still covering some of her classes for the rest of this week, so I can finish up the current units with them, then I'm moving over to the Science Department. Should be an easy couple of days as the students have a 'staggered return', so I have quite a few free lessons and can get up to speed with my new role.

As for my picture, it's today's wise words from the desk calendar my husband got me for Christmas! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.